Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Discussions of function optimised hardware in the form of ASIC and FPGA
Forum rules
Welcome to The Scottish Boinc Team boards. See forum rules in pinned post. If you can't be bothered then try not to be too naughty as I have a delete button to press and a ban hammer to swing.
User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 1:55 am

I need to find me some friends like that... :lol:

But excellent job working through it and getting it running on BU. :thumbright:
Image

User avatar
robmacagain
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Sassenachshire

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by robmacagain » Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:07 pm

Can anyone see anything wrong with this for me please, Can't get it to run milkyway #3 :(.

<app_config>
<project_max_concurrent>1</project_max_concurrent>
<app_version>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<app_name>C-cgminer-rbox</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb :4</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app_version>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<app_name>cgminer-rbox_3</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb :4</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app_version>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<app_name>cgminer-rbox_4</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb :4</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app_version>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<app_name>cgminer-rbox_5</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb :4</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app_version>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<app_name>cgminer-rbox_6</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb :4</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app_version>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<app_name>cgminer-rbox_8</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb :4</cmdline>
</app_version>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<app_name>cgminer-rbox_9</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb :4</cmdline>
</app_version>
</app_config>

Thank You.
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:35 pm

What's your cc_config.xml look like? Also, campaign #3 was removed then added back. Is that option selected in the BU preferences for your system?
Image

User avatar
robmacagain
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Sassenachshire

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by robmacagain » Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:06 pm

Thanks.

Yes it is in the preferences.

This >
<cc_config>
<options>
<coproc>
<type>miner_asic</type>
<count>1</count>
</coproc>
</options>
</cc_config>

Have just upgraded BOINC at it's request and now i'm getting this as well

Bitcoin Utopia: Notice from BOINC
Your app_config.xml file refers to an unknown application 'cgminer-rbox_6'. Known applications: 'cgminer-rbox_4', 'C-cgminer-rbox', 'cgminer-rbox_5', 'cgminer-rbox_3'
21/04/2015 16:04:37

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bitcoin Utopia: Notice from BOINC
Unknown tag in app_config.xml: /app_version
21/04/2015 16:04:37

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bitcoin Utopia: Notice from BOINC
Unknown tag in app_config.xml: cmdline
21/04/2015 16:04:37

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bitcoin Utopia: Notice from BOINC
Unknown tag in app_config.xml: app_name
21/04/2015 16:04:37

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bitcoin Utopia: Notice from BOINC
Unknown tag in app_config.xml: plan_class
21/04/2015 16:04:37

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bitcoin Utopia: Campaign #3 reopened, campaign #12 (Free-DC) online
There are two new active campaigns:

- Campaign #3 - Milkyway@home - Part 3

- Campaign #12 - Free-DC

....................................................................................................................

There should be some work available. Enjoy!



Henri.
20/04/2015 21:16:11 · more...


BUT its still running and crunching???

It is trying to download this cgminer-rbox_3_win32_00003.zip file, maybe that is why it will not run milkyway until it gets it, but its on project backoff :( saying retry in 2 hrs 47 minutes GRRRR.
Image

User avatar
robmacagain
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Sassenachshire

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by robmacagain » Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:25 pm

There seems to be no work coming from them at all now, the server page says it's running???
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:46 pm

I'm getting #3 WUs but don't use an app_config.xml.

I think the issue may be app_name should be C-cgminer-rbox, not C-cgminer_rbox. It's close but computers are so darn picky.
Image

User avatar
robmacagain
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Sassenachshire

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by robmacagain » Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:00 pm

It says C-cgminer-rbox already??

Anyway it has started working now, it was that .zip file that was the problem, it's downloaded it the noo and it's working :wav:
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:04 pm

Then what the heck was I looking at! :P

Dunno what the issue is. Did you say the issue is it won't download a #3 WU or it downloads but won't launch it active?
Image

User avatar
robmacagain
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Boinc Warrant Officer Class 2
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Sassenachshire

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by robmacagain » Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:12 pm

I think you need to grind a fresh jug :lol:.

What it was it wouldn't get me any campaign #3, and it was stuck downloading a .zip file that said cgminer-rbox_3_win32_00003.zip that was after I inserted the new parameter in the cc config to start campaign 3 again.

I have #3 now and #4 all banging away, so I is happy :D.
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sun Nov 08, 2015 1:30 am

I have one 333 Mh/s block erupter (device 5, for all practical purposes an U1 Antminer) and two 1.6 Gh/s U2 antminers (devices 3 and 4), all on USB bus 1 (oh, the joy of an USB 3.0 hub).
How can I get the 333 Mh/s block erupter to crunch only campaign #7, while the heavy cavalry charges only at campaign#6?
Image
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:17 pm

This used to work. Don't know if BU has changed though. Use the correct app names also.

Make sure cc_config.xml has correct number of miners in it...
<coproc>
<type>miner_asic</type>
<count>3</count>
</coproc>

Modify your BU app cmdline parameter with the --usb option, where..
--usb <bus>:<device>,<bus>:<device>,<bus>:<device>

app_config.xml looks like this...
<app_config>
<app>
<name>C-cgminer</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app>
<name>cgminer_4</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<plan_class>asic</plan_class>
<app_name>C-cgminer</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb 4:14,4:16,4:17 --anu-freq 250</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app_version>
<plan_class>asic</plan_class>
<app_name>cgminer_4</app_name>
<cmdline>--usb 4:10,4:11,4:13 --anu-freq 250</cmdline>
</app_version>
</app_config>

To determine the bus and device number of each miner, unzip the contents of one of the BU cgminer app files into a work folder, then from a command prompt, go to that folder and run...
cgminer -ndevs

It will give you output like this...
[2014-09-24 17:42:42] USB all: found 28 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 4 Device 10 ID: 10c4:ea60
Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 1: Bus 4 Device 11 ID: 10c4:ea60
Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 2: Bus 4 Device 17 ID: 10c4:ea60
Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 3: Bus 4 Device 13 ID: 10c4:ea60
Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 4: Bus 4 Device 16 ID: 10c4:ea60
Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 5: Bus 4 Device 14 ID: 10c4:ea60
Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
[2014-09-24 17:42:42] 6 known USB devices
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sun Nov 08, 2015 2:30 pm

I'm not having trouble running 3 WUs at a time, I am having trouble keeping the block erupter at campaign #7 333Mh/s WUs, while the antminers do campaign #6 WUs at 1.6 Gh/s.
At the moment my system is treating the three USB sticks as equal and randomly assigns 333Mh/s or 1.6Mh/s Wu to them for both campaigns, despite my settings in the app_config.xml. In fact the only thing that changed when I tried to run with an app_config.xml -I did without previously- is that the error rate for the 1.6 WUs has risen sharply.

Is it right to have --anu-freq 250 for both the 333Mh/s block erupter and the 1.6Mh/s U2 Antminers?
Image
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 2:50 pm

Look closer at the example. It shows you how to assign devices on specific USB ports to specific apps.

Not sure cgminer will pass the cmdline arg --anu-freq 250 to the block erupters. That's an option specifically for antminers. If it did though, I would say, no don't set the freq the same for different types of ASICs.
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sun Nov 08, 2015 8:03 pm

What am I doing wrong here? Only device 4 runs, and it is doing Campaign#6... :(

<app_config>
<app>
<name>cgminer-be_7</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<app_name>cgminer-be_7</app_name>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<cmdline>--usb 1:5</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app>
<name>cgminer_6</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<app_name>cgminer_6</app_name>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<cmdline>--usb 1:3</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app>
<name>cgminer_7</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<app_name>cgminer_7</app_name>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<cmdline>--usb 1:4</cmdline>
</app_version>
</app_config>
Image
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 10:34 pm

what does your cc_config.xml look like and what version boinc?
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sun Nov 08, 2015 10:38 pm

I have it back at three running WUs, but still ignoring these settings (placed USB WiFi stick in the hub so the device numbers changed):

<app_config>
<app>
<name>cgminer-be_7</name>
<max_concurrent>1</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<app_name>cgminer-be_7</app_name>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<cmdline>--usb 1:5</cmdline>
</app_version>
<app>
<name>cgminer_6</name>
<max_concurrent>2</max_concurrent>
</app>
<app_version>
<app_name>cgminer_6</app_name>
<plan_class>miner_asic</plan_class>
<cmdline>--usb 1:2,1:4 --anu-freq 250</cmdline>
</app_version>
</app_config>

Ignoring in the sense that the block erupter (1:5) still gets 1.6 Gh/s tasks for both campaigns,
and the U2 antminers (1:2 & 1:4) still get 333 Mh/s tasks for campaign#7 too :evil:
Last edited by Dirk Broer on Wed Nov 11, 2015 1:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 10:50 pm

What does your cc_config.xml look like?
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:37 pm

scole250 wrote:What does your cc_config.xml look like?
<coproc>
<type>miner_asic</type>
<count>3</count>
<peak_flops>0.000000</peak_flops>
<device_nums>2 4 5</device_nums>
</coproc>
Image
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:43 pm

What does this line do?
<device_nums>2 4 5</device_nums>

Try taking that out.
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:37 am

From http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Client_configuration
<coproc>
specify a coprocessor. Used in combination with the Anonymous platform mechanism. The element has the form
<coproc>
<type>some_name</type>
<count>1</count>
<device_nums>0 2</device_nums>
[ <peak_flops>1e10</peak_flops> ]
[ <non_gpu/> ]
</coproc>

The name given in <type> must match that in the <coproc> element in app_info.xml. <count> in the number of GPU instances, and
<device_nums> is their device numbers.
<peak_flops> is the GPU peak FLOPS; it can be omitted if your app_info.xml specifies estimated application FLOPS. If <non_gpu/> is specified, the coprocessor is not treated as a GPU; i.e. "Suspend GPU" does not affect it. This mechanism has two purposes: to provide fine-grained control of the coprocessors recognized by BOINC (NVIDIA, AMD, and Intel GPUs), and to let you use coprocessors not recognized by BOINC.

removal of the line resulted in having devices 0, 1 and 2 -the whole shebang banging away on campaign#7, or #6, or both, regardless of the app_config.xml- instead of having 2 and 4 go at #6 and 5 at #7..... :geek:
Image
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:59 am

The only thing that seems to work is the --anu-freq 250 line.
BOINC manager still gives tasks at random to my three USB sticks, even though I specified campaign#7 for the 333 Mh/s block erupter and #6 for the 1.6 Gh/s U2 antminers.
Image
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:02 am

BU is not reading my app_config.xml at all! I enabled campaign #13 again, did nothing for the app_config.xml (that does not mention #13) and voila: campaign #13 runs on my machine :drunken:
Image
Image

User avatar
Alez
[ TSBT's Pirate ]
[ TSBT's Pirate ]
Posts: 6267
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:22 pm
Location: roaming the planet

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Alez » Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:15 am

Dirk, on start up does boinc mention finding an app_config to use ? or does it mention app_config refers to missing apps etc. Post up your new app_config and I'll see if I can spot anything untoward. Which version of BOINC manager ?
The best form of help from above is a sniper on the rooftop....
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:29 am

Yes, it finds the app_config.xml
Nope, no missing apps
Latest Boinc manager

but this post says it all:

With the new --usb :1 option and running more than 1 miner of the same kind you must change the
<count>x</count>
line in cc_config to the amount of your running miners. No app_config is needed anymore. For different apps see above.
This will overwrite the --usb :1 option.

and other USB options as well, I fear...
Image
Image

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:39 am

Post your cc_config.xml and app_config,xml
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sun Nov 22, 2015 2:13 am

scole250 wrote:Post your cc_config.xml and app_config,xml
Read above or below, depending on the way you sort the messages.
Image
Image

User avatar
Alez
[ TSBT's Pirate ]
[ TSBT's Pirate ]
Posts: 6267
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:22 pm
Location: roaming the planet

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Alez » Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:59 pm

Dirk Broer wrote:Yes, it finds the app_config.xml
Nope, no missing apps
Latest Boinc manager

but this post says it all:

With the new --usb :1 option and running more than 1 miner of the same kind you must change the
<count>x</count>
line in cc_config to the amount of your running miners. No app_config is needed anymore. For different apps see above.
This will overwrite the --usb :1 option.

and other USB options as well, I fear...
It certainly sounds like it over rules what you wish to do. One way round it would be to run your miners on different computers and use the home / work / school setting in your account to specify which project runs on which computer / miner combination. Only way I can think of without being able to use the USB options.
The best form of help from above is a sniper on the rooftop....
Image

RomaScala
Boinc Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 7:37 am

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by RomaScala » Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:02 am

As per my experience this project is a PITA trying to figure out how to get it to download WUs when another CPU project is active.
After it completes all it's BU WUs, it refuses to download more BU WUs until the CPU projects are suspended.
I can run other GPU projects and BU WUs will download, but if I run Rosetta, BU won't download new WUs.

User avatar
scole250
Boinc Brigadier
Boinc Brigadier
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by scole250 » Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:11 am

I recall having similar issues while I ran it. I used raspberry pi's to run them. BU and WUProp where the only projects on them.
Image

User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using ASICS miners etc on Bitcoin

Unread post by Dirk Broer » Sat Apr 02, 2016 6:25 pm

I've set BU to 10,000% resources in order to get WUs on the systems that run BU.
I mostly run 40+ projects per box (that's x86 boxes, try to run 40+ projects on your ARM boxes...)
Image
Image

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “ASIC & FPGA Enchanced Devices”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest